Week 7: Just do it.

I know, I know, it’s an over-used old Nike tagline, but it’s true! How many of us have made excuses for not getting healthier? Oh, work is just to crazy to focus on this right now. I’m just too busy. For me it was, I just had a baby and I’m not sure we’re done, so… (Yep, been milking that one for 4 years now…) Whatever your excuse is, drop it.

I have been amazed over the past few weeks. I generally eat healthy… or so I thought. But since I started blogging, I have been following my own advice and increasing my awareness about what I am eating and how much I am exercising. Guess what? I wasn’t eating as well as I thought. And I wasn’t in nearly as good of physical shape as I was in my head!  Could this be you?

On a co-worker’s recommendation I downloaded the “My fitness pal” ap. (That co-worker, by the way, has lost over 30 lbs using the ap.) I must say, it is way easier than my first recommendation of keeping a notebook because it totals everything up for you. But the principle is still the same. Awareness changes behavior. It creates accountability, and affects how you see yourself. It’s like holding up a mirror to your face everyday to show you where you’re great and where you are weak.

As someone who has tried every diet fad in the book (see week 6 post)… I can’t believe how simple this is. All I am doing is counting calories by typing in the foods I eat, tracking portion sizes and logging my exercise. Who knew?!

Now, unfortunately our scale is broken, so I have not weighed myself recently and can’t get you any “official” stats… but I can SEE a physical difference and most importantly I FEEL healthier! I am seeing muscles and toning I haven’t seen since pre-baby #1.  My clothes fit looser, and I already have more energy. I love the quote on the attached image: It takes four weeks for you to see your body changing. (Check! Just completed week four of Jillian Michael’s “ripped in 30”) It takes 8 weeks for friends and family, and it takes 12 weeks for the rest of the world.  KEEP GOING.

65913_486399604750564_656589272_n

Your challenge this week? KEEP GOING!

 

 

Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Week 7: Just do it.

  1. Alyson Stewart says:

    Amanda, your blog has so inspired me that I’m down to within a few pounds of my all time lowest weight. I have done it with two things: 1) I’m just eating less. I don’t mean going hungry, but I had realized I was doing a lot of stress snacking during the work day (cause my job seem to always be stressful), and so I just cut it out and started eating a little smaller portions. After months of trying low carb, or no sugar diets, this one was so much easier becuase I can have anythign I want, but just a tiny little bit. It took about 3-4 days to wean off the snacking, but now I swear I am never hungry between means. I just have to stop and tune into my body to realize that. Drinking a lot of water helps too – which I am doing more of thanks to your recommendation. 2) I started exercising more. I still am no dynamo because being a full time, traveling, working mother of two adorable little boys is really all I can find time for most of the time. But I signed up for a 6am spin class with a neighbor that is on Monday mornings. And it turns out that by just doing that one thing, I am not kicking my week off right and am so much more motivated to work out more throughout the week. Last week I did spin Monday and Wed. mornings at 6am, ran on Tuesday at the gym, and then Saturday took the boys to the child care of my gym for the first time and was relieved that they had a blast! Who knew? I was able to get in a 3 mile run and a few weights (45 min). Hugh is begging me to go back, so that is one less excuse I’ll have. Anyway, I wanted you to know that your blog is making a difference at least for me. I’m sure it is for others. Even if I’m off course from yoru general recommendations, the spirit of inspiration was what I needed. Thanks and miss you and our morning runs still!

    Alyson

    • ajchristph says:

      Thanks, Alyson! Glad to hear it is making a difference!!! I miss you, too. Still haven’t found a consistent workout buddy down here. I have been shocked lately that I am actually seeing more results from my daily 30 minute workouts than I ever saw… even when I was training for marathons! A BIG reason is because my diet AND exercise level are in check. Makes a HUGE difference. I love that I am not killing myself with workouts, but am still able to see results. A healthy momma is so important to my happiness, and my happiness is so important to my family’s well being. Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

